Dr. Solomon Ehrman, Agudath Israel Leader, Sails for Germany
Menu JTA Search

Dr. Solomon Ehrman, Agudath Israel Leader, Sails for Germany

Download PDF for this date

Dr. Solomon Ehrmann, chairman of the Palestine office of the Agudath Israel, and Mrs. Ehrmann, sailed from New York on Wednesday on the steamer Deutschland, following a stay of six months.

A delegation, representing the executive committee, the Central Council, and the Rabbinical Council of Agudath Israel were at the pier to bid farewell to Dr. Ehrmann.

Over two hundred guests assembled in the Green Ball Room, of the Broadway Central Hotel, on Tuesday evening, at a farewell banquet tendered to Dr. and Mrs. Solomon Ehrmann. B. Koenigsberg acted as toastmaster.

Rabbi Ezekiel Lipschitz and Rabbi Meir Don Plotzki, who are now visiting this country, were among the speakers.

Judge Otto A. Rosalsky, in addressing the gathering, declared that he is not interested in a party that tends to rebuild Palestine culturally, politically or industrially, but that he is with heart and soul for a party that will rebuild Palestine religiously and spiritually, along the lines contained in the program of Agudath Israel.

Others who spoke were Rabbi Leo Jung, Rabbi Herbert S. Goldstein, Rabbi Rivkind of Philadelphia, and Samuel Bettelheim.

Mr. William Fischman was elected president of the Agudath Israel or America, at the second monthly session of the Central Council of Agudath Israel. Joseph H. Cohen, loshua Epstein, Benjamin Koenigsberg and Rabbi E. M. Preil were chosen vicepresidents.

A motion to hold the first national convention of Agudath Israel of America in Philadelphia, by the end of October, during the sesqui-centennial celebration, was presented by Samuel Bettelheim and adopted. The council, however, reserved decision as to whether this convention should be held at Philadelphia or at New York.

Besides the president and the vice-presidents the Central Committee of Agudath Israel in America consists of: Rabbi J. Baumel, Samuel Bettelheim, Harry Bodek, Rabbi M. Chodorow. Joseph H. Cohen, Rabbi H. Dachowitz, Rabbi Noah Garfinkel, Morris Gleicher, Abraham Goldstein, Rabbi Dr. Herbert S. Goldstein, Louis Gutman. Rabbi Ephraim Zalmen Halpern. Leopold Horowitz, Rabbi Dr. Leo Jung, Rabbi L. I. Kahane, Rabbi Abraham Kalmanowitz. Dr. Z. Kapner, Attorney Benjamin Koenigsberg, M. Boas Lande, P. Mendlowitz, Rabbi Alter S. Pleffer, Rabbi E. M. Preil, Abner Rosenfield. Rabbi B. Sack, Dr. Jonas Simon. H. Wolf Siegel, Attorney Benjamin Weberman, Rabbi M. G. Wolk of Chicago. Henry D. Weill, Matthews Weinberg, and Rabbi Dr. Phillip Rosenberg, of Cleveland, Ohio.

The executive committee of Agudath Israel is composed of Dr. Solomon Ehrmann, president; Samuel Bettelheim, Rabbi Noah Garfinkel, Abraham Goldstein. Rabbi Dr. Leo Jung. Rabbi L. I. Kahane, Dr. Jonas Simon and Henry D. Weill.

Ground was broken for the construction of Temple Emanu-El. Providence, R. I.

The new building will have an auditorium seating 1,000 persons and several other rooms for classes, meetings and office work. It will be the largest temple in New England outside of Boston.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund