Committee of 40 Chosen to Call Orthodox Convention
Menu JTA Search

Committee of 40 Chosen to Call Orthodox Convention

Download PDF for this date

Many of the congregations whose delegates attended the National Conference of Orthodox Congregations concluded here on Tuesday have joined the organization which will convene the national convention to form a Federation of Orthodox Communities. A nominal fee of $10 was paid by the congregations. A. A. Stavisky was chosen temporary treasurer.

A Committee of Forty, including ten representatives of the Union of Orthodox Rabbis, ten of the Union of Orthodox Congregations and twenty laymen from among the delegates to the conference, was chosen and intrusted with the task of making the necessary preparations for calling the convention which, according to the plans, will take place during Chanukah week. The lay members of the committee are: Gedaliah Bublick, Peter Wiernick, Nathan Lamport, J. Rubin, L. Andron, I. Goldman, A. Levy, M. Glicksman, J. J. Herman, Edward Silver and Harris L. Selig, all of New York; I. L. Rosenberg of Milwaukee; S. Block, Youngstown, Ohio; Nathan Klotnick, Washington, D. C.; Nathan Kaplan, Baltimore; Hyman Kolkow, Rochester; Saul B. Edman, Detroit; Saul Levin. Chicago, and A. M. Ellis of Philadelphia.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund