Install New Officers of Deborah Relief Society
Menu JTA Search

Install New Officers of Deborah Relief Society

Download PDF for this date

The installation of the officers and the board of directors of the Deborah Jewish Consumptive Relief Society was held Saturday evening at the Hotel Astor. Dr. Louis I. Harris, former Health Commissioner of New York City, was re-elected chairman of the Board of Directors of the Society, and will head the organization in its campaign to raise $1,000,000 for the new buildings to relieve the crowded condition of the present institution and accommodate four times the number of patients now provided for at Browns Mills, and an additional building for 50 children.

Justice Albert Cohen of the State Supreme Court was re-elected honorary chairman of the Society with Judge Jacob Panken as chairman of the executive committee and Philip J. Schotland, a Newark attorney, as vice-chairman of the board of directors.

The officers of the Deborah Society are: president, Mrs. Solomon Shapiro; vice-presidents, Hon. L. C. Schwartz, Hon. Louis A. Fast, Hon. Abraham Berkowitz, Hon. Milton Unger and Elias Savada; honorary vice-presidents, Hon. Mayor James J. Walker, Hon. Mayor Harry Mackey of Philadelphia, Samuel Blasenstein, Harry M. Sterngold, Abraham Schmerling, Mrs. Harris Friedman, Mrs. Otto A. Rosalsky; treasurer, Harris Friedman; secretary, Barney Joseph.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund