Name Officers and Council of United Synagogue’s Body of 1,000 to Stimulate Judaism
Menu JTA Search

Name Officers and Council of United Synagogue’s Body of 1,000 to Stimulate Judaism

Download PDF for this date

The personnel of the officers and advisory council of the United Synagogue of America “Committee of One Thousand” was announced today by A. B. Cohen of Scranton and Philadelphia, national chairman of the committee. The purpose of this Committee of One Thousand is to stimulate interest in Jewish religious activity throughout the country, with special emphasis upon the requirements of the smaller unorganized Jewish communities.

Mrs. Samuel Spiegle, president of the Women’s League of the United Synagogue of America has accepted the position of national associate chairman, and together with A. B. Cohen will head the movement. At a meeting of the Executive Council of the Women’s League, whole-hearted endorsement was given to the program of “The Committee of One Thousand.” A call will go out to the women of America to join the men in furthering this work.

Hon. H. P. Kopplemann of Hartford, Conn., was named national secretary, with Jacob C. Gutman of Philadelphia, national treasurer. Mrs. David Friedlander of Philadelphia is national director.

There will be an advisory council consisting of outstanding men and women in American Jewish life to meet from time to time to plan the work and to see that the plans are carried out. The advisory committee consists of: Mrs. Cyrus Adler, Philadelphia; Henry W. Braude, Esq., Philadelphia; A. M. Burd, Philadelphia; Rabbi Max Drob, New York; Isadore Fine, New York; Dr. Louis Finkelstein, New York; Mrs. Robert S. Ginns, Philadelphia; S. Herbert Golden, New York; Dr. James E. Goldfield, Philadelphia; Jonah J. Goldstein, Esq., New York; Rabbi Simon Greenberg, Philadelphia; Dr. Julius H. Greenstone, Philadelphia; Joseph Gross, Esq., Philadelphia; Mrs. M. David Hoffman, Philadelphia; Mrs. Joseph Horowitz, Brooklyn, N. Y.; Mrs. David Kass, New York; Mrs. A. H. Kavovitz, Port Chester, N. Y.; Mrs. Nathan Kussey, Newark, N. J.; Miss Sarah Kussey, Newark, N. J.; Solomon Lamport, New York; Louis E. Levinthal, Esq., Philadelphia; Albert H. Lieberman, Philadelphia; Dr. Israel H. Levinthal, New York; Nathan Levy, New York; Judge William M. Lewis; Philadelphia; Mrs. Morris Lurie, New York; Dr. Elias Margolis, New York; Louis J. Moss, Esq., New York; Hon. Hyman J. Reit, New York; Herman Rosenberger, Philadelphia and David Weber, Philadelphia.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund