Menu JTA Search

5 Jews Named to Illinois Unemployment Commission

Of the forty-five leading citizens of the State of Illinois today named by Governor Louis L. Emmerson as members of a committee to find a solution for the present unemployment crisis in the state, five are Jews. The Jewish members of the committee are John Hertz, chairman of the board of the Omnibus Corporation; Jay C. Jacobson, assistant labor manager of Hart, Schaffner & Marx; Albert D. Lasker, chairman of the board of Lord & Thomas and Logan, advertising company; Rabbi Louis Mann of Sinai Congregation and professor at the University of Chicago, and Julius Rosenwald, chairman of the board of directors of Sears Roebuck and Company.