Morris Rothenberg is Installed As American Zionist President
Menu JTA Search

Morris Rothenberg is Installed As American Zionist President

Download PDF for this date

Morris Rothenberg, who was unanimously elected President of the Zionist Organization of America at the recent convention at Philadelphia, was installed in his office at the first meeting of the newly-elected Zionist Administrative Committee, held last evening, which was attended by all the principal officers and by the majority of its members.

In an address outlining the policies which he intended to follow during his administration, Mr. Rothenberg characterized his unanimous selection as a mandate from the Zionists of America to compose all differences that may exist within the ranks; pledged his support to the Executive of the World Zionist Organization and the Jewish Agency for Palestine; promised “most friendly collaboration with our non-Zionist partners”; and expressed the hope that Great Britain, despite the fact that she “has not yet fulfilled the pledges contained in the Prime Minister’s letter to Dr. Weizmann and the many promises given to the Agency prior to and subsequent to the issuance of that document,” would act in such manner as “to re-establish relations of confidence between the Government and the Jewish Agency” which had been imparied in the administration preceding that of Sir Arthur Grenfell Wauchope, the present High Commissioner of Palestine.

The appointment of a Committee of Seven, which, in conjunction with the officers, is to administer the affairs of the Zionist Organization, was left to Mr. Rothenberg. The recent convention had voted for the creation of such a committee to facilitate the business of the organization.

The Administrative Committee elected a Finance Committee composed of the following members: Louis P. Rocker, chairman; Harry P. Fierst, Edward Friedman; Harry P. Fierst, Edward Friedman, Isidore Goldberg, Abram Liebovitz, Clarence Y. Palitz, Louis Rimsky, Sigmund Thau, and Morris Weinberg.

The decision of the recent convention to send eight delegates of the Zionist Organization of America to the World Jewish Conference to be held at Geneva beginning August 14, resunlted in the selection by the Administrative Committee of the following delegates: Dr. Stephen S. Wise, Louis Lipsky, Jacob Fishman, B. Horwich, Chicago; Abraham Goldberg, Emanuel Neumann, Abraham Tulin and Morris Weinberg.

The meeting also laid plans for the launching of a nation-wide Zionist membership campaign to begin in September. A committee of five was appointed to develop a complete program which would provide for the enrollment of many thousands of American Jews not now affiliated with the organization, but who are sympathetic toward the Zionist movement.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund