Central Conference Re-elects Officers
Menu JTA Search

Central Conference Re-elects Officers

Download PDF for this date

Rabbi Morris Newfield of Birmingham, Alabama, was re-elected president of the Central Conference of American Rabbis at its closing session here on Sunday.

Rabbi David Philipson of Cincinnati and Rabbi Joseph Stolz of Chicago were named honorary presidents.

Other officers elected are: Rabbi Samuel H. Goldenson of Pittsburgh, vice-president; Rabbi David Marx of Atlanta, treasurer; Rabbi Isaac E. Marcuson of Macon, Ga., recording secretary; Rabbi Harry Margolis of St. Paul, corresponding secretary.

The following were named members of the Executive Board: Rabbi Stephen S. Wise of New York; Felix A. Levy of Chicago; Leon Fram of Detroit; Samuel Markowitz of Fort Wayne, Ind.; Edward L. Israel of Baltimore and Irving Reichert of San Francisco.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund