International Stars Welcome Einstein
Menu JTA Search

International Stars Welcome Einstein

Download PDF for this date

Ossip Gabrilowitsch and Giovanni Martinelli will be two of the international concert stars who will appear in the ceremonies on March 25, welcoming Professor Albert Einstein as a new resident of this State.

The announcement was made today for the Governor’s Einstein Reception Committee by Mrs. David Loeser, of East Orange, chairman of the music committee which is arranging the concert.


A complete list of the officers and honorary vice-chairman of the Governor’s Reception Committee announced today by the headquarters at 412 Military Park Building, follows:

Governor A. Harry Moore, honorary chairman; Mayor Harry Bacharach, of Atlantic City, chairman; Mayor Meyer C. Ellenstein, of Newark, treasurer: Louis V. Aranson, Louis Bamberger, Chester I. Barnard, Senator W. Warren Barbour, Paul Block, Dr. Robert C. Clothier, Edward D. Duffield. Walter E. Edge, Mrs. Thomas A. Edison, Col. J. Lester Eisner, Abram I. Elkus, Philip Forman, Mrs. Felix Fuld. Dr. Lillian M. Gilbreth, Michael Hollander, Senator Hamilton F. Kean, Dr. Jacob G. Lipman, Thomas N. McCarter, Alfred J. McCosker, Mrs. Dwight W. Morrow, Joseph B. Perskie, Edward W. Scudder, J. David Stern, David T. Wilentz.


The reception and concert will be held in Newark Armory, Sussex avenue and Jay street, Newark, on Sunday afternoon, March 25.

Preparations for Newark’s activities as host are under way under the chairmanship of Samuel I. Kessler. With him are Louis C. Schwartz as Chairman of the Patrons Committee; Mrs. Meyer Kussy as Chairman of the Women’s Committee, and Dr. Leon Mones as Chairman of the Speakers’ Committee.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund