Tributes Paid Brith Sholom N. J. Directors
Menu JTA Search

Tributes Paid Brith Sholom N. J. Directors

Download PDF for this date

More than 100 members of the New Jersey State Council of the Independent Order Brith Sholom, among them residents of Newark, Elizabeth and Trenton, attended a dinner here at the Lincoln Highway Inn in honor of newly elected members of the national executive board from their state.

A. Sigmund Kanengieser, of Newark, past grandmaster of the Order, who presided, announced that the Council was now making plans for a drive for five thousand new members throughout the state.

Guests of honor at the fete included Peter Littman, of Trenton, deputy grandmaster for New Jersey; Joseph Fishberg, also of Trenton, national chairman of supplies; David Biederman, of Newark, national chairman of the committee on the state of the Order; Nathaniel W. Franzblau, also of Newark, national chairman of law; and Jacob Pfefferstein, of Elizabeth, national chairman of finance. All were presented with “smokadors” as gifts. Tribute also was paid to A. I. Lemberg, of Elizabeth, who retired as a member of the national executive board.

In addition to Kanengieser, speakers included Moses N. Helfgott, of New York, past grandmaster; Morrie Ornstein, of New York, national chairman of propaganda; Herman Seidman, of Brooklyn, deputy grandmaster for New York State; Martin O. Levy, of Philadelphia, grand secretary, and Adolph Rosenblum, assistant secretary.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund