Polish Jews Must Offer United Slate
Menu JTA Search

Polish Jews Must Offer United Slate

Download PDF for this date

The election of the six deputies to the Polish Sejm, allotted to the Jews under the newly enacted election laws, is conditional upon the creation of a united Jewish electoral list, the Jewish Telegraphic Agency learned today from authoritative sources.

If no united Jewish electoral list is presented, however, then the entire Jewish population of Poland, which comprises more than ten per cent of the whole Polish population, is in danger of being unrepresented even nominally in the next Sejm, it was learned.


Should the Jews unite on a single election list, then in all likelihood the Jewish deputation will be made up of three Zionists, two members of the Agudah, and one representative Jewish industrialist, it is revealed by the same sources.

The General Zionists, however, came out with a declaration the other day stating that they will abstain from participating in the elections to the Sejm because they believe them to be merely a sham election, since the new election laws virtually deprive the Jews of direct representation.

The Poale Zionists and the Bundists, too, have indicated that they will most likely refrain from participating in the elections.

Jewish leaders demand that the Jews be allotted a representation in the Sejm according to the proportion of Jews to the general population in Poland. Since the new Sejm will have 200 deputies, the Jews claim that they should receive at least twenty seats.

The Jewish Telegraphic Agency also learns that of the Senators to be appointed by the government, according to the new laws, two Jews will probably be included.

It is expected that the government will name to the Senate Rabbi Dr. Schorr, Chief Rabbi of Poland, and the Jewish banker, Rafael Szereszawski, a former Senator.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund