13 Are Named to Executive of A.j. Committee
Menu JTA Search

13 Are Named to Executive of A.j. Committee

Download PDF for this date

Thirteen men and women active in national organizations and prominent in their respective fields of endeavor have been added to the executive committee of the American Jewish Committee, it was announced yesterday. This increases the number of executive members from thirty to forty-three, and is pursuant to a resolution adopted at the annual meeting of the organization to enlarge the committee to fifty.

Louis B. Mayer of Los Angeles, head of Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios, and an outstanding leader of the motion picture industry, will share the west coast representation with former Governor Julius L. Meier of Portland, Oregon. Henry Wineman, Detroit; Aaron Waldheim, St. Louis; Sidney Lansburgh, Baltimore and Judge Phillip Forman, Trenton, are the other members selected for the country at large.

Those elected from New York are Carl Austrian, attorney, and Dr. Solomon Lowenstein, executive vice-president of the New York Federation for the Support of Jewish Philanthropic Organizations.

In order to relate the national bodies affiliated with the committee more closely to the organization, the following leaders in these bodies have been elected to serve on the governing body: Simon M. Goldsmith, grand master of the Free Sons of Israel; Louis Moss, president of the United Synagogue of America; Mrs. Maurice L. Goldman, chairman of the executive committee of the National Council of Jewish Women; John L. Bernstein, of the Hebrew Sheltering and Immigrant Aid Society; Mrs. David de Sola Pool, long actively engaged in the work of Hadassah, and Judge William B. Lewis, former grand master of Brith Sholom.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund