Menu JTA Search

New British Cabinet Has Four Jewish Members, Zionists Pleased with Colonial Secretary

The new British Cabinet, completed yesterday, includes four Jewish members. They are: Emannuel Shinwell, Minister of Fuel and Power; Lewis Silkin, Minister for Town and Country Planning; Lord Nathan, parliamentary under-Secretary of War, and G.R. Strauss, parliamentary secretary of War Transport.

Zionist leaders here today expressed their satisfaction with the fact that in addition to appointing George Henry Hall to the post of Colonial Secretary, the new Labor Cabinet appointed also Creech Jones as under-Secretary for Colonies. Both are known to have expressed their opposition to the British White Paper under which the doors of Palestine are now closed to Jewish immigration.