No Change in Traditional U.S. Policy on Palestine, Secretary of State Says
Menu JTA Search

No Change in Traditional U.S. Policy on Palestine, Secretary of State Says

Download PDF for this date

A Democratic delegation of seven Senators and one Congressman today urged Secretary of State Marshall to reaffirm fixed American policy in support of the establishment of a Jewish homeland in Palestine, and to take the leadership in the United Nations for this solution of the Palestine question. The Secretary told them that there has been no change in, or departure from, traditional American policy on Palestine.

In a 45-minute discussion with Marshall, the congressional group, headed by Senator James E. Murray of Montana, called the Secretary’s attention to presidential declarations of policy, resolutions by state governors and legislatures and party platform planks on Palestine. The Secretary restated his view that the U.S. should refrain from any statement on Palestine until after the report by the U.N. inquiry committee.

The group consisted of Senator Murray, Senators Johnson of Colorado, Hill of Alabama, Pepper of Florida, Taylor of Idaho, O’Mahoney of Wyoming, Myers of Pennsylvania, and Rep. Celler of New York. Murphy said that seven or eight other senators including Hatch of New Mexico, Downey of California, and McMahon of Connecticut had planned to join them, but were detained at the Capitol.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund