Menu JTA Search

Mrs. Irving M. Engel Elected President of National Council of Jewish Women

Mrs. Irving M. Engel of New York was yesterday elected president of the National Council of Jewish Women at the organization’s 19th triennial convention here. She succeeds Mrs. Joseph M. Welt of Detroit.

Mrs. Welt was elected honorary vice-president. The other new officers are: Mrs. Moises Cahn of New Cleans, Mrs. Isaac Pelton of Los Angeles, Mrs. Charles Hymen of Minneapolis, and Mrs. Manuel M. Eskind of Nashvills, all vice-presidents; Mrs. Simon E. Sobeloff of Baltimore, recording secretary; Mrs. Edward F. Stern of Seattle, assistant recording secretary; Mrs. Lawrence G. Anathan of New York, treasurer; Mrs. Herman B. Levine of West Englewood, New Jersey, assistant treasurer; and Mrs. Joseph Berger of South Orange, New Jersey, financial secretary.