Menu JTA Search

“committee for Defense of Jerusalem” Formed; Comprises Five of City’s Leaders

A “Committee for Defense of Jerusalem,” comprising five prominent persons, was formed here today. One of the group’s members, S.Z. shragai, member of the Jewish Agency executive, told the Jewish Telegraphic Agency that yesterday’s “demonstration clearly proves that the people of Jerusalem will not accept non-Israel rule and will not yield the city as Israel’s capital.”

Simultaneously representatives of Jewish settlements in the “Jerusalem corridor” assemble today at government offices in Jerusalem. At a press conference they pledged allegiance to Israel and declared that they will fight for Jerusalem’s incorporation in the Jewish state.