Sharett, Eban to Head Israel Delegation at U. N. Assembly
Menu JTA Search

Sharett, Eban to Head Israel Delegation at U. N. Assembly

Download PDF for this date

The Israel delegation to the forthcoming United Nations General Assembly will be headed by Foreign Minister Moshe Sharett and permanent delegate Ambassador Abba Eban, a Foreign Ministry spokesman announced tonight. He revealed that Mr. Sharett will come to U.N. headquarters in New York only if events at the session require his presence.

Other members of the delegation will be Shmuel Ekyashiv, Minister to Moscow; Arthur Lurie, Consul General in New York; Dr. L Genossar, former Minister to Rome; and Dr. Jacob Robinson of the Foreign Ministry.

The spokesman also confirmed reports published here that Israel will support the nomination of Lester Pearson, Canadian Minister of External Affairs, for the presidency of the Assembly.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund