Menu JTA Search

News Brief

Download PDF for this date


Zionist leaders in the United States today expressed a deep sense of sorrow at the death in London of Prof. Brodetsky.

On behalf of the Zionist Organization of America, Rabbi Irving Miller, president, said in a statement: “As an internationally-honored scholar and teacher, as the leader of British Zionism and as a member of the Jewish Agency executive, Professor Brodetsky made enduring contributions to the life of his time and that of future generations. The Jewish people everywhere will honor his memory. “

Dr. George S. Wise, chairman of the Board of Governors of the Hebrew University, stated: “Israel and the educational world will long remember Prof. Selig Brodetsky for his lifelong leadership in Zionism, his brilliant academic career and his great contributions to the educational future of Israel as president of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.”

Joseph Mazer, associate chairman of the board of directors of the American Friends of the Hebrew University, declared: “The American Friends of the Hebrew University are saddened to learn of the passing of Professor Selig Brodetsky, who gave devoted service over a span of many years to the Hebrew University, as both President and member of the Board of Governors, and to the State of Israel. He was a distinguished mathematician, scientist and educator, and an outstanding Jewish leader on the world scene. His death is a serious loss to the State of Israel and all Jewry. “

Dr. Israel Goldstein, president of the World Confederation of General Zionists, said: “The passing of Prof. Selig Brodetsky deprives the Jewish people and the Zionist movement of one of its most illustrious personalities.”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund