Menu JTA Search

Three Jewish Leaders to Receive J. W. B. 1957 Frank Weil Award

The 1957 Frank L. Weil Awards of the National Jewish Welfare Board have been voted to Rabbi Joseph H. Lookstein, New York; Dr. Solomon Grayzel, Philadelphia, and Louis Stern, Newark, N. J. , it was announced today. The winners will receive the awards — bronze medallions and scrolls — at a luncheon session of the 40th annual meeting of JWB’s board of directors, to be held Sunday, April 7, at the Biltmore Hotel, here.

Rabbi Lookstein will receive the award “for distinguished contribution to the welfare of Jewish personnel in the U.S. Armed Forces. ” Mr. Stern, chairman of JWB’s Jewish Community Center Division, will be honored “for distinguished contribution to the advancement of the Jewish Community Center movement. ” Dr. Grayzel, editor of the Jewish Publication Society of America, is to be cited “for distinguished contribution to the development of American Jewish culture. “