Three Jews Re-elected to Bonn Parliament; Neo-nazis Suffer Defeat
Menu JTA Search

Three Jews Re-elected to Bonn Parliament; Neo-nazis Suffer Defeat

Download PDF for this date

Three Jews were returned to the West German Bundestag in Sunday’s national elections which brought Chancellor Konrad Adenauer’s Christian Democratic Party a full majority of Germany’s Lower House.

Re-elected were: Jeanette Wolff, Peter Blachstein and Jacob Altmeir. Two other Jews, Max Lippmann and Dr. Josef Neuberger, both Social Democratic candidates, were defeated.

The elections also brought defeat to several openly neo-Nazi groups including the BHE Refugee Party which polled 1,375,000 votes but failed to carry five percent of the electorate and, under German constitutional procedure, will not be represented at all in the Bundestag. The German Party, which has displayed a notable lack of sympathy toward all Jewish matters, has only 17 seats in the Bundestag.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund