Edwin Wolf Ii Named President of Foundation for Jewish Culture
Menu JTA Search

Edwin Wolf Ii Named President of Foundation for Jewish Culture

Download PDF for this date

Edwin Wolf II, of Philadelphia, was chosen president of the National Foundation for Jewish Culture by the board of directors in the first election of permanent officers, it was announced here today. Mr. Wolf, a professional librarian and historian, is presicent of the Federation of Jewish Agencies of Greater Philadelphia and was formerly president of the Jewish Publication Society.

At the same time Herbert H. Lehman, former Governor and Senator of the State of New York, was named honorary president. Other officers elected were: Samuel Bronfman of Montreal, Julian Freeman of Indianapolis and Judge Simon Sobeloff of Baltimore, vice-presidents; Edwin Rosenberg of New York, treasurer; William Lee Frost of New York, assistant treasurer; and Dr. Judah J. Shapiro, also of New York, secretary.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund