Four Jews Win Seats in Canadian Parliament; Three Are Re-elected
Menu JTA Search

Four Jews Win Seats in Canadian Parliament; Three Are Re-elected

Download PDF for this date

Canada’s general elections, which took place on Monday and for which tabulations were completed today, left the number of Jews in the House of Commons unchanged, with four Jews still in the national Parliament. One Jewish deputy, David Lewis, of the Toronto suburb of York South, was defeated on the New Democratic Party’s ticket, but was replaced by another Jew, Marvin Gelber, a Liberal.

The Social Credit Party, which has been charged with tolerating anti-Semitic spokesmen among some of its leaders and candidates, lost six seats nationally, going down from 30 in the previous Parliament to 24 elected in Monday’s balloting.

Herbert A. Gray, a Jew running on the Liberal ticket in Essex-West, at Windsor, Ontario, was re-elected. Milton Klein, in Montreal-Cartier, was elected to succeed to the seat previously held by Leon Crestohl. Mr. Crestohl died several weeks ago. In Winnipeg-North, David Orlikow was re-elected on the New Democratic ticket.

Mr. Gelber, who defeated Mr. Lewis in York South, is well known in Jewish communal and Zionist circles, having held office in the Zionist organization of his district as well as nationally. His father, Louis Gelber, and four brothers are also prominent in Zionist, cultural and Jewish communal affairs on the local and international levels.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund