New Israel Cabinet Holds First Meeting; Considers Proposed Budget
Menu JTA Search

New Israel Cabinet Holds First Meeting; Considers Proposed Budget

Download PDF for this date

Israel’s new Cabinet held its first meeting today and approved the appointment of deputy Ministers, thus completing the formation of the new Government under Prime Minister Levi Eshkol. Deputy Ministers need not be confirmed by the Knesset (Parliament). Pinhas Sapir, Minister of Finance, presented the 1966-67 budget proposal to the Cabinet today. However, the figures were not revealed.

Aharon Yadlin and Rabbi Kalman Kahane were reappointed Deputy Ministers of Education and Culture. Dr. I. S. Ben-Meir was chosen again as Deputy Minister of the interior. New Deputy Ministers named were Yehuda Shaari, of the Independent Liberal Party, to be the No. 2 official in the Ministry of Development; Dr. Z. Dinstein, of the Mapai-Achdut Avoda alignment, as Deputy Minister of Defense; and Aharon Uzzan as Deputy Minister of Agriculture. The Cabinet approved also the members of eight standing Ministerial committees.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund