Here is List of Israel’s 24 New Cabinet Member
Menu JTA Search

Here is List of Israel’s 24 New Cabinet Member

Download PDF for this date

Israel’s new Cabinet consists of 24 Ministers, six of whom, at present, hold no portfolios. The Cabinet members are:

Mrs. Golda Meir, Prime Minister; Yigal Allon, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Education; Moshe Dayan, Minister of Defense; Abba Eban, Foreign Minister; Pinhas Saphir, Finance; Zeev Sharef, Housing; Joseph Almogi, Labor; Israel Galili, Minister Without Portfolio; Shlomo Hillel, Police; Yaacov Shimshon Shapira, Justice; Shimon Peres, Minister Without Portfolio; Chaim Gvati, Agriculture; Menachem Beigin, Minister Without Portfolio; Joseph Saphir, Trade and Industry: Gen. Ezer Weizman, Transport; Elimelech Rimalt, Post; Chaim Landau, Development: Aryeh Leon Dulzin, Minister Without Portfolio; Moshe Chaim Shapiro, Interior; Dr. Joseph Burg, Social Welfare; Dr. Zerah Warhaftig, Religious Affairs; Moshe Kol, Tourism; Israel Barzilai and Victor Shemtov, Ministers Without Portfolio. The two latter members have the option to take over the Ministries of Health and Absorption respectively.

All of the Cabinet members were sworn in today except for Mr. Eban who is visiting the United States. He will be sworn in on his return.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund