U.s., Canadian Jewish Leaders Invited by Echeverria to Meet with Him
Menu JTA Search

U.s., Canadian Jewish Leaders Invited by Echeverria to Meet with Him

Download PDF for this date

A delegation of American and Canadian Jewish leaders left here by plane today for Mexico City for a meeting tomorrow with President Luis Echeverria of Mexico at the President’s invitation. A spokesman for the delegation declined to comment on the reason for the invitation but it was assumed to be connected with the critical reaction in Jewish com- munities to Mexico’s vote of support for the General Assembly resolution last Nov. 10 equating Zionism with racism. Many Jewish organizations cancelled trips to Mexico.

The delegation is headed by Seymour Graubard, chairman of the Anti-Defamation League of B’nai B’rith. Other members are Bertram Gold, executive vice-president and Richard Maass, chairman of the board of governors of the American Jewish Committee; Philip Baum, assistant executive director, and Will Maslow, general counsel of the American Jewish Congress; Burton Levinson, chairman of the ADL Latin American Affairs Committee, and Rabbi Morton S. Rosenthal, director of the ADL Latin American Affairs Department.

Also, Lawrence Peirez, a member of the board of governors of B’nai B’rith; Mrs. Rose Matzkin, president of Hadassah; Dr. Max Matzkin of Hadassah Associates; Mrs. Thelma Morse, of the National Council of Jewish Women; Jacques Torczyner, chairman of the American Section of the World Jewish Congress; Max Shechter, B’nai B’rith International vice-president, Canadian Zionist Federation vice-president and member of the national executive of the Canadian Jewish Congress; Samuel Brochstein, Synagogue Council of America, and Dr. Seymour Weisman, former executive director of the Jewish War Veterans.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund