Last Two Embassies, Guatemala and Dominican Republic, Leave Jerusalem
Menu JTA Search

Last Two Embassies, Guatemala and Dominican Republic, Leave Jerusalem

Download PDF for this date

Jerusalem is now entirely without foreign embassies following the announcement over the weekend that the last two remaining embassies in the city, those of Guatemala and the Dominican Republic, are to move to the Tel Aviv area. In all, following the Jerusalem law, 13 embassies have moved from the capital: 11 Latin Americans, Holland and Haiti.

The Foreign Ministry here said it could only restate its view that the moves represented a surrender to Arab oil pressure. Indeed, several of the Latin American countries involved, as well as Holland, have candidly admitted that this is the case.

There was no word from the Dominican Ambassador, Jose Villanueva, who at one stage told reporters he would rather resign than to be the person to move the embassy, Villanueva is the dean of the diplomatic corps, having been in Jerusalem for nearly a decade.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund