Menu JTA Search

Members of the New Cabinet

The following are the 20 Cabinet Ministers in the government of Premier Yitzhak Shamir. They were approved yesterday by the Knesset:

Yitzhak Shamir (Herut)-Premier and Foreign Minister.

David Levy (Herut)-Deputy Premier and Minister of Housing and Construction

Pesach Grupper (Liberal) – Agriculture

Mordechai Zipori (Herut) – Communications

Moshe Arens (Herut) – Defense

Yaacov Meridor (Herut) – Economics and Interministerial Coordination

Zevulun Hammer (National Religious Party) – Education and Culture

Yitzhak Modai (Liberal) – Energy and Infrastructure

Yoram Aridor (Herut) – Finance

Eliezar Shostak (Laam) – Health

Yosef Burg (National Religious Party) – Interior; Religious Affairs

Moshe Nissim (Liberal) – Justice

Aharon Uzan (Tami) – Labor and Social Welfare; Immigrant Absorption

Yuval Neeman (Tehiya) – Science and Development

Avraham Sharir (Liberal) – Tourism

Gideon Patt (Liberal) – Trade and Industry

Haim Corfu (Herut) – Transportation

Ariel Sharon (Herut), Mordechai Ben-Porat (Independent) and Sarah Doron (Liberal) – Without Portfolio.