Members of Shamir’s Cabinet
Menu JTA Search

Members of Shamir’s Cabinet

Download PDF for this date

The 25-member Cabinet presented to the Knesset Monday by incoming Premier Yitzhak Shamir differs only slightly from the outgoing national unity Cabinet headed by Simon Peres. It consists of 10 Likud Ministers, including the Premier, and nine Labor Ministers. The remaining six. Ministers represent the minor parties in the coalition.

The new Cabinet is as follows:

Premier — Yitzhak Shamir (Likud-Herut).

Vice Premier and Foreign Minister — Shimon Peres (Labor).

Deputy Premier and Minister of Housing and Construction — David Levy (Likud-Herut).

Deputy Premier and Education Minister — Yitzhak Navon (Labor).

Defense Minister — Yitzhak Rabin (Labor).

Finance Minister — Moshe Nissim (Likud-Liberal).

Minister of Trade and Industry — Ariel Sharon (Likud-Herut).

Minister of Economic Coordination — Gad Yaacobi (Labor).

Agriculture Minister — Aryeh Nahamkin (Labor).

Minister of Justice and Minister of Tourism — Avraham Sharir (Likud-Liberal).

Minister of Transport — Haim Corfu (Likud-Herut).

Minister of Energy and Infrastructure — Moshe Shahal (Labor).

Minister of Communications — Amnon Rubinstein (Shinui).

Minister of Interior — Yitzhak Peretz (Shash).

Minister of Public Security — Haim Barlev (Labor).

Minister of Health — Shoshana Arbeli-Almoslino (Labor).

Minister of Immigration and Absorption — Yaacov Tsur (Labor).

Minister of Labor and Social Affairs — Moshe Katzav (Likud-Herut).

Minister of Science and Technology — Gideon Patt (Likud-Liberal).

Minister of Religious Affairs — Zevulun Hammer (National Religious Party).

Ministers-Without-Portfolio: Moshe Arens (Likud-Herut); Yigael Hurwitz (Ometz); Yosef Shapira (Morasha); Ezer Weizman (Yahad); Yitzhak Modai (Likud-Liberal).

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund