Menu JTA Search


  • News in Brief

    The following officers elected by the Long Island Council of Junior Hadassah will be installed in September: Mrs. Betty Braverman, Corona, president; Miss Anne Kaplan, Queens Village, vice-president; Ada Rattner, Astoria, treasurer; Stephanie Bernstein, Astoria, recording secretary; Sylvia Rubin, Jamaica, corresponding secretary. More ▸

  • Jugoslavia Honors 5 for Forest Project Role

    Five Jews were today the recipients of special honors from the Jugoslavian government in recognition of their work in behalf of the Alexander Forest in Palestine, named after the late King Alexander. The Jews so honored are: Dr. Marko Bauer, president of the Keren Kayemeth in Jugoslavia; Dr. A. Licht, president of the Zionist Organization;… More ▸

  • Hadassah Unit Honored

    An inscription in the Jewish National Fund Golden Book has been awarded to the local Hadassah unit for its work in J.N.F. fund-raising. More ▸

  • 13 Are Named to Executive of A.j. Committee

    Thirteen men and women active in national organizations and prominent in their respective fields of endeavor have been added to the executive committee of the American Jewish Committee, it was announced yesterday. This increases the number of executive members from thirty to forty-three, and is pursuant to a resolution adopted at the annual meeting of… More ▸

  • News in Brief

    Allentown Jews contributed $1,500 to the United Jewish Appeal campaign. In addition, $250 was collected for the national B’nai B’rith and $100 for the national Hadassah. Attorney David Getz was chairman of the campaign committee. More ▸

  • ZOA Names 9 Delegates to World Congress at Lucerne

    The following were elected here late last night to represent the Zionist Organization of America at the forthcoming World Zionist Congress to be held in Lucerne, Switzerland, in the week of August 20th: 1. Louis Lipsky—172 votes. 2. Morris Rothenberg—158 votes. 3. Rabbi Abba Hillel Silver—132 votes. 4. Rabbi Stephen S. Wise—87 votes. 5. Abraham… More ▸

  • Rothenberg Victor over Lipsky Group

    Morris Rothenberg was nominated for the presidency of the Zionist Organization of America, and Louis Lipsky was nominated honorary president today at the thirty-eighth convention of the Z.O.A. Their election is considered certain. At the same session the Zionist Organization of America was ready to go on record as aligning itself with the Group A… More ▸

  • Many Noted Jews Depart for Europe

    A number of noted Jews were to sail for Europe and Palestine Saturday on ships of various lines. On the passenger list of the Ile de France were: Max Reinhardt, famous producer, and his bride; Rabbi Stephen S. Wise and Mrs. Wise, Mrs. Allen Lehman, sister-in-law of the governor and N. Feinerman, secretary of the… More ▸

  • Pittsburgh

    Edgar J. Kaufmaun, prominent merchant, and Irvin F. Lehman, a past president of the Federation, have been named to the executive council of the Community Fund. Mrs. Harry Geesky of Leechburg has been elected president of the Kiski Valley chapter of Hadassah. More ▸

  • New York City

    Mrs. Edward Jacobs, national president of Hadassah, will leave Saturday on the Conte di Savoia for her seventh trip to Palestine. Assemblyman Albert D. Schanzer will be installed tonight for his eleventh term as president of the Brooklyn Jewish Big Brother and Big Sister Association at its annual meeting at the Brooklyn Jewish Center, 667… More ▸