Menu JTA Search

nobel prize

  • A Hungarian Jew Who Survived Auschwitz Wins Nobel for Literature by Agnes Bohm

    An Auschwitz survivor who recently was criticized for defending Israel became the first Hungarian to win the Nobel prize for literature. The award to Imre Kertesz, 72, was announced Thursday. Hungarian Jews said the prize was gratifying to the entire community, while Prime Minister Peter Medgyessy told Kertesz that because of him, “the citizens of… More ▸

  • While World Honors U.N. with Nobel, Israel and Jewish Leaders Are Leery

    Consider this week in U.N. history: The organization and its leader win the Nobel Peace Prize for being at “the forefront of efforts to achieve peace and security in the world” — while Syria, a state long accused of sponsoring terrorism, is elected overwhelmingly to the all-important Security Council. If nothing else, the bizarre confluence… More ▸

  • With Intifada Raging, U.S. Jews Seeking to Revoke Arafat’s Nobel

    Frustrated by what they consider Palestinian Authority President Yasser Arafat’s renewed embrace of violence, a group of young American Jewish professionals has launched an Internet petition to revoke Arafat’s Nobel Peace Prize. Located at, the petition asks “all people of morality and good faith to stand up and express their anger and disappointment in… More ▸

  • News Brief

    An Israeli Arab legislator is seeking support among members of the E.U.’s Parliament to have the Nobel Prize Committee strip Foreign Minister Shimon Peres of his Nobel Peace Prize, according to the Israeli daily Ha’aretz. Mohammed Barakah said several E.U. legislators supported the idea because they believe Peres, as a member of the Sharon government,… More ▸

  • News Brief

    Nobel Peace Prize laureate Elie Wiesel called on Israel and the Palestinians to postpone negotiations about Jerusalem for a generation. "Perhaps in 20 years," he wrote in an Op-Ed in Wednesday’s New York Times, the Palestinians "will then understand why the Jewish soul carries within it the wound and the love of a city whose… More ▸

  • News Brief

    Nobel Peace Prize laureate Elie Wiesel is among 51 people profiled in a new book about human rights defenders who have fought against injustice. The coffee-table book "Speak Truth to Power" was written by Kerry Kennedy Cuomo, the daughter of the late Sen. Robert F. Kennedy. More ▸

  • News Brief

    Tel Aviv University established what it is calling a Jewish Nobel Prize. Three prizes of $1 million will be awarded annually to people or groups in recognition of support for the Jewish people. The prizes will be awarded in the fields of public welfare, science and archaeology/history. More ▸

  • Refugee from Nazi Persecution Winner of Nobel Prize in Chemistry

    A refugee from Nazi persecution is one of the recipients of the 1998 Nobel Prize in chemistry. Walter Kohn, a 75-year-old emeritus professor at the University of California at Santa Barbara, will share the $970,000 prize with British scientist John Pople of Northwestern University in Evanston, Ill. Their research, which makes it possible to model… More ▸

  • French Jew Wins Nobel Prize for Cooling and Trapping Atoms

    Frenchman Claude Cohen-Tannoudji, who won the 1997 Nobel Prize in physics with two American researchers, is delighted with the honor, but embarrassed by the bombardment of calls from the media and well- wishers. Cohen-Tannoudji is a professor at the prestigious College de France and a member of France’s Academy of Sciences. He is the third… More ▸

  • 3 Jews Among Nobel Prize Winners

    Several Jews are among the winners of this year’s Nobel Prizes. Joseph Rotblat, a British physicist and founder of the anti-nuclear group the Pugwash Conference, was the recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize. Rotblat, a native of Poland, participated in the Manhattan Project to build the world’s first atomic bomb in the United States, but… More ▸