Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Jewish Education Group Anniversary to Be Celebrated at Dinner

May 16, 1934
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The first anniversary of the formation of the Brooklyn division of the Jewish Education Association will be celebrated with a dinner in the grand ballroom of the St. George Hotel, Brooklyn, on Sunday evening.

Emphasizing the educational importance of the affair, Judge Nathan Sweedler, chairman of the group, declared: “Our principal aim is to bring the Jewish educational problem before our leaders in so impressive a manner that they will realize that the problem is one that calls for communal responsibility and action.”

Simon F. Rothschild, chairman of the board of Abraham and Straus, is chairman of the committee of sponsors for the dinner, and Justice Edward Lazansky is co-chairman. Other members of the committee are Samuel I. Cohen, Abraham Krumbein, Jacob Levy, David Marcus, Samuel Rottenberg and Jacob H. Cohen.

Among the organizations co-operating in the affair are the Council of Organizations for Jewish Education, League for Jewish Education, Banim Division of the Jewish Education Association and the various Brooklyn sections of Ivriah.

Recommended from JTA