Institute Gives Degrees to 8 Student Rabbis
Menu JTA Search

Institute Gives Degrees to 8 Student Rabbis

Download PDF for this date

Eight rabbis were ordained at ninth annual commencement exercises of the Jewish Institute of Religion at Carnegie Hall yesterday day morning. Ceremonies were simple and impressive.

Graduates honored were dressed in the traditional long black cape and hat. Flowers banked the platform.

Honorary degrees of Doctor of Hebrew Letters were conferred upon Professor Charles Torrey, of the Semitics Department at Yale University; Menachem Mendel Ussishkin, founder of the Hebrew National Fund and Zionist leader, who received his degree in absentia, and Dr. Nisson Touroff.

Dr. Stephen S. Wise, president of the Institute, conferred the degrees.

In his annual address of farewell, Dr. Wise said: “Never were men in the rabbinate faced by sterner duty or more testing challenge. The rabbi is the servant of his people as well as the teacher and guardian of its faith. But in this hour which finds the very foundations of life shaking beneath our feet, the rabbi must be the leader as well as counsellor to his people.”

The Rev. Dr. David Philipson of Cincinnati, Ohio, delivered the commencement address.

The following were ordained: Arthur Brodey, of Toronto; Julius Kravetz, of Rochester; Martin Moses Perelmutter, of Montreal, Canada; Jehudah Cohen, of Los Angeles; David Samuel Gruber, of Roxbury, Mass.; Robert Paul Jacobs, of Syracuse; Albert Michels, of Lansing, Mich., and Samson Aaron Shain, of Hyannis, Mass.


The Guggenheimer Fellowship for a year of study in Palestine was given to Julius Kravetz, ’33. The John Palmer Prize to the most meritorious student was given to Martin Moses Perelmuter, ’34; the Margaret L. Neumark Prize for excellence and distinction was given to Harold Saperstein, ’35; the Alexander Kohut Prize in Talmud was given to Jerome Malino, ’35; the Rebekah Kohut Prize in Bible was given to Naphtali Frishberg, ’37; honorable mention for the same award was given to Ely Louis Neimand, ’37; the Sidney E. Goldstein Prize in Social Service was given to Harold Kamsler, ’36; the Philip S. Waldheim Prize in Social Service was given to Ely Louis Neimand, ’37; the Louis Marshall Prize in Education was given to Saul White, ’35; the Augusta and Richard Weiner Prize in History was given to Arthur Brodey, ’34; the Adolph M. Holstein Prize in Philosophy was given to Abram Isaac Jacobson, ’35; the Leopold Michels Prize in Hebrew was given to Colman Zwitman, ’35; honorable mention was given to I. Shalom Ravetch, ’35.


Exercises that closed the season’s work were held yesterday by the religious school of Congregation B’nai Jeshurun, in the Community Center, 270 West Eighty-ninth street. About 500 attended.

Diplomas were awarded to twenty-four boys and girls confirmed this year. They include:

Peggy L. Bernstein, Sylvia R. Butler, Jane E. Claster, Rose Cohen, Jeanne P. Florman, Ruth Goldberg, Janet Goldmuntz, Claire J. Halprin, Hazel I. Halprin, Marilyn F. Heine, Ilene Hoffenberg, Shirley E. Hurvitz, Florence M. Kossar, Martin Lazarus, Sylvia R. Leibel, William Levy Jr., Bette J. Schiller, Bobbye Muriel Schwartz, Grace M. Singer, Ruth F. Solomon, Geraldine C. Stein, Seymour Udell, Lois Uttal, and Theodore Zimmerman.

Dr. Israel Goldstein, rabbi of the congregation, presided. Speakers included Charles W. Endel, president of the congregation; Isidor S. Schweitzer, chairman of the religious school board, and Rabbi Samuel M. Segal, educational director.

Shirley Halprin and Bernard Fine were the two graduates of the high school department. The following prizes were awarded:

1. Dora L. Morrison medals to two confirmants for progress in Hebrew: Claire and Hazel Halprin, and Martin Lazarus.

2. Blumberg Prize for outstanding meritorious work in the confirmation class-Florence Kossar.

3. Isabel B. Rosenthal memorial award for merit and cooperation, donated by Mrs. Jesse Smalbach-Juliette Abramson.

4. Men’s Club prize for best confirmation essay on “What Confirmation Means to Me”-an order of books-Florence Kossar.

5. Essie Schneider memorial prizes for general excellence, donated by Mr. Isidor S. Schweitzer-Benjamin Heller, Paula Neiman, Rita Sargen, Arline Rodbell, Vera Frank, Sanford Pitofsky, Julius Steinberg, Marjorie Sobel, Marilyn Silverman, Harry Garten, Robert Hoffman, Marvi Lubin, Syril Kirson, Robert Cohen, Stanley Frank, Billy Sloe, Fred Bob, Howard Greenwald.

6. Parents’ Association prizes for general excellence-Louis Pollner, Barbara Sanders, Leah Learner, Robert Cohen, Stanley Frank, Jane Freedman, Phyllis Cohen, Louis D. Schwartz, Jr., Juliette Abramson, Bette Schiller, Gladys Claster, Blanche Schwartz, Marvin Bernstein, Barbara Sanders, Teddy Ginsburg, Stuart Tave, Philip Hobel, Julian Luger.

7. Parents’ Association prizes for cooperation and attendance at junior congregation-Howard Greenwald and Samuel S. Schweitzer.

8. Edgar H. Bauman prizes for best attendance-Thomas Garten, Warren Steibel, Melvin Boaz, Arthur Newman, Doris Ritter, Jerome Klein, Ruth Janson, Bernice Stern, Frank Cohen, Seymour Udell, Gertrude Levbarg, Muriel Leavin, Myron Slomka, Richard Golub, Lloyd Solomon, David Becker, Larry Levy, Helen Barrett.


Borough President Samuel Levy of Manhattan will deliver the principal address at the graduation exercises of the Hebrew Teachers Training School for Girls, to be held tonight at the Jewish Center, 131 West Eighty-sixth street.

Twenty students will receive diplomas. The charge will be given by Rabbi Joseph H. Lookstein, principal. Among other speakers are Max S. Rosenfeld, president of the school, and William Weiss, president, Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations of America. The graduates are: Sylvia Amram, Judith Aufrichtig, Gabrielle Farkas, Lipse Fine, Charlotte Freibrun, Anna Goldberg, Celia Kaner, Ruth Kushner, Rose Liebowitz, Jessie Ostran, Lillian Ostran, Beatrice Posner, Dorothy Posner, Lillian Reich, Zipporah Roggin, Doris Schulman, Sarah Snyder, Shulamith Snyder, Shulamith Zaretsky, Bessie Zabladowsky.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund