Kirstein Heads Boston Jewish Charity Group
Menu JTA Search

Kirstein Heads Boston Jewish Charity Group

Download PDF for this date

Louis E. Kirstein was reelected president of the Associated Jewish Philanthropies at a meeting of the board of trustees at the administrative offices yesterday afternoon. This marks Mr. Kirstein’s sixth consecutive term as president of the body.

Judge Abraham K. Cohen was elected first vice-president and Mrs. Hyman Freiman, Albert A. Ginzberg, Albert W. Kaffenburgh, Judge Jacob J. Kaplan and Henry Penn, vice-presidents. Others named to offices include Casper M. Grosberg, treasurer; Morris Morse and Joseph Rabinovitz, assistant treasurers; Max E. Bernkopf, secretary, and B. M. Selekman, executive director.

The executive committee, including officers, are Samuel L. Dana, Judge Abraham E. Pinanski, Samuel Markell, Sidney Rabinovitz, James Solomont and David M. Watchmaker.

Nine members were also named to the board of managers of trust property. They are Max E. Bernkopf, Judge A. K. Cohen, Adolph Ehrlich, Casper M. Grosberg, Judge J. J. Kaplan, Louis E. Kirstein, Judge A. E. Pinanski, Sidney Rabinovitz and D. M. Watchmaker.

The following were elected to the board of trustees for a term of three years: Solomon Agoos, Joseph Bearak, A. A. Bloom, Samuel B. Finkel, Hyman Freiman, Samuel Gold, Isaac Kaplan, Milton Kahn, Samuel Langer, Lyman Lehrburger, Dr. Hyman Morrison, J. Rabinovitz, S. Rabinovitz, Louis Shapiro, Henry Silberman, Coleman Silbert, Dr. Harry C. Solomon, Arthur C. Stern, Miss Frances Stern, F. Frank Vorenberg, and Max E. Wyzanski.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund