Dr. Magnes Named President of Hebrew University
Menu JTA Search

Dr. Magnes Named President of Hebrew University

Download PDF for this date

Dr. Judah L. Magnes has been elected president of the Hebrew University in Palestine, it was officially announced here today following a meeting of the university’s Board of Governors.

Chancellor of the university since its establishment in 1923, in his new post Dr. Magnes will continue to exercise administrative powers. However, in accordance with his wishes, some of the administrative details connected with the post of chancellor will be turned over to the school’s rector who is to be appointed by the senate.

Dr. Chaim Weizmann, newly elected president of the World Zionist Organization and president of the university since its inception, has been named chairman of the Board of Governors, a new office. It was also announced today that Dr. Weizmann, a world-renowned scientist, will participate actively in the university’s science department. Dr. Weizmann, a chemist, is director of an agricultural experimental station at Rehoboth in Palestine.

Z. Shocken, at present honorary treasurer of the Hebrew University, has been named chairman of the school’s executive council.

Satisfaction with the new executive setup of the Hebrew University, as announced from Lucerne, was voiced by Felix M. Warburg, member of the Board of Governors and one of the largest contributors to the university, in a statement today to the Jewish Telegraphic Agency.

“The arrangement, which fulfills our hopes, augurs well,” he said, “for constructive work looking toward the development of the university. I am confident that this development will be of the right quality and in the right direction.”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund