Nobel Prize Winner Sets Up Fellowship at Weizmann Institute
Menu JTA Search

Nobel Prize Winner Sets Up Fellowship at Weizmann Institute

Download PDF for this date

A fellowship in microbiology has been established at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Rehovoth, as a tribute to the late President Chaim Weizmann, by Dr. Selman A. Waksman, winner of the 1952 Nobel Prize in physiology and medicine, it was announced here today by Meyer W. Weisgal, chairman of the executive council of the Institute.

The announcement of the new Selman and Deborah Waksman Fellowship in Microbiology coincides with the Weizmann memorial tribute to be held tomorrow at the Waldorf Astoria under the auspices of the American Committee for the Weizmann Institute of Science. Dr. Waksman, who is chairman of the Department of Microbiology at Rutgers University, stated in a letter to Mr. Weisgal that the Weizmann Institute, which he visited earlier this year, was “rendering remarkable service to science generally and to Israel in particular,”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund