Three Authors Receive 1954 Kessel Prize for Jewish Literature
Menu JTA Search

Three Authors Receive 1954 Kessel Prize for Jewish Literature

Download PDF for this date

Jonas Turkov, an actor, and novelists A. M. Fuchs and Yitzhak Perlow have been awarded the Zvi Kessel prizes for Jewish literature for the past year, it was announced here today by the culture commission of the Jewish Central Committee of Mexico, which administers the fund set up eight years ago by the Mexican Jewish philanthropist Zvi Kessel. The awards are each for $250.

Mr. Turkow, who recently visited Argentina and is now en route to Israel, received the prize for his Yiddish book “Dead Stars,” which was published by the Organization of Polish Jews in Argentina. Mr. Fuchs, a resident of Israel, received the award for the Hebrew volume “Tehom Paor” (The Open Abyss), while Mr. Perlow, also a resident of Israel, was honored for his Yiddish book “Mathilda is Alive.”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund