Detroit and Memphis Jewish Leaders Win Edwin Rosenberg Awards
Menu JTA Search

Detroit and Memphis Jewish Leaders Win Edwin Rosenberg Awards

Download PDF for this date

Three Jewish community leaders in Detroit and Memphis have been named winners of the third annual Edwin Rosenberg Awards, it was announced today by Julian Freeman of Indianapolis, chairman of the awards committee of the Council of Jewish Federations and Welfare Funds. They are: Abe Kasle and Morris Garvett of Detroit, and Marx J. Borod of Memphis. The awards are made possible by the Ben and Bertha Touster Foundation.

The Detroit Jewish leaders, Mr. Kasle and Mr. Garvett, were singled out for their role in developing an integrated, community-wide system of Jewish education. Mr. Kasle is president of the United Hebrew Schools and Mr. Garvett is chairman of the education division of the Detroit Jewish Welfare Federation, under whose auspices the plan was evolved. Marx J. Borod of Memphis, was honored for his authorship of a community support agreement between regional homes for the aged and a child care center, and the communities they served in the South. Each of the winners will receive an engraved hand-crafted, solid silver medallion, mounted on a laurel-wreathed stand.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund