Seven Congressmen Introduce Legislation Aimed Against Arab Boycott
Menu JTA Search

Seven Congressmen Introduce Legislation Aimed Against Arab Boycott

Download PDF for this date

Seven Congressmen today introduced legislation to strengthen United States resistance to economic boycott procedures of foreign countries, including the Arab League boycott against Israel.

The measure was co-sponsored by Charles S. Joelson, New Jersey Democrat; Edward J. Patten, New Jersey Democrat; Joseph Resnick, New York Democrat; Jonathan Bingham, New York Democrat; James Roosevelt, California Democrat; John Lindsay, New York Republican; and Seymour Halpern, New York Republican.

The measure would prohibit American firms from “the taking of any actions, including the furnishing of information or the signing of agreements” which have the effect” of furthering or supporting the restrictive practices or boycotts fostered or imposed by any foreign country against another country friendly to the United States.”

The legislation, which is an amendment to the Export Control Act of 1949, is similar to proposals offered in the Senate earlier this week by Senators Harrison Williams, New Jersey Democrat and Jacob Javits, New York Republican. Rep. Joelson, speaking for the co-sponsors, characterized the measure as one directed against restraint of trade. He said: “We already have a policy against restraint of trade at home, and it should be extended to the international sphere, particularly when it is aimed against a friendly nation.”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund