Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

4 Jews Named to Conduct New Bira Bidjan Administrative Unit

September 12, 1930
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Four Jews, three Russians and one Korean have been appointed members of the organization bureau charged with conducting the new administrative region that has been established at Bira Bidjan, Far Eastern Republic, by the praesidium of the Union Central Executive Committee of the Soviet Union. The four Jewish members are M. Robinson, M. Rashkes, the former Ozet settler, M. Skolnik and the acting chairman of the bureau, M. Gendlin.

The administrative unit consists of the territory originally set aside for the establishment of a Jewish Republic. This has now been abandoned as a result of the many reports emanating from Bira Bidjan that the management was not satisfactory, and from the recent recommendation of the land commissariat that Bira Bidjan be made an independent administrative and economic unit with its own district committee supervising.

Recommended from JTA