Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Jewish Agency Board Re-elected; Five New Members Named

June 20, 1975
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The Jewish Agency’s Board of Governors, under the chairmanship of Max Fisher, of Detroit, was unanimously re-elected last night at the Agency’s fourth annual Assembly. Six former members who did not stand for re-election were replaced by five new members for a total membership of 42 Instead of 43. The new members are Joseph Kumkummer, of Belgium; Donald Robinson and Frank Lautenberg, both of the United States; Dr. Carlos Goldmann, of Venezuela; and Phillip Granowsky of Canada, Lautenberg is general chairman of the United Jewish Appeal.

They replaced Rabbi Israel Miller, of the U.S., chairman of the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations who was previously president of the American Zionist Federation; Thomas Hecht, of Canada; and Max Schein, of Mexico, all of whom declined to stand for re-election for personal reasons; and Tibor Rosenbaum, of Geneva; Albert Adelman and Edward Ginsberg, of the U.S. Rosenbaum, whose International Credit Bank in Geneva, failed last year, was the key figure in a major international financial scandal involving Israel and is presently free on ball pending trial by Swiss authorities for mismanagement of his bank.

There was some confusion following the vote last night over whether Jewish Agency chairman Pinhas Sapir and Agency treasurer Leon Dulzin were required to stand for re-election or whether their election last year was for four-year terms, Legal experts asked to interpret the Jewish Agency’s constitution on this matter were looking into it. The Herut and other opponents of Sapir did not, however, make a major issue of it.

Recommended from JTA