Candidates on board for Israel at 60


Each of the major presidential candidates has joined a U.S. committee commemorating Israel’s 60th anniversary.

Malcolm Hoenlein, the executive vice chairman of the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations, the umbrella body coordinating the National Committee for Israel 60, announced Friday that U.S. Sens. Hillary Rodham Clinton (D-N.Y.), Barack Obama (D-Ill.) and John McCain (R-Ariz.) all would serve as vice chairs of the committee.

The committee’s co-chairs are past presidents Bill Clinton and George H. W. Bush. Two former vice presidents and all the living former secretaries of state are also vice chairs of the committee.

The news release was headlined, “Senators Clinton, McCain and Obama Agree on One Thing: Support for Israel.”

Recommended from JTA