Israel to cooperate with West African group
Menu JTA Search

Israel to cooperate with West African group

JERUSALEM (JTA) — Israel signed its first agreement with a federation of 15 West African countries.

Foreign Minister Avigdor Lieberman signed an agreement Wednesday between Israel and the Economic Community of West African States during an official visit to Nigeria, part of a weeklong African tour.

Three of the economic community’s member states — Guinea, Mali and Niger — do not have diplomatic relations with Israel.

The cooperation agreement is in the fields of education, agriculture, culture and economic relations. The two sides can agree to cooperate in other fields as well.

Lieberman and Commission Vice President Jean de Dieu Somda also signed a pact between the West African organization and the Israel Center for International Cooperation to work together to initiate projects with emphasis on reducing poverty and preserving and protecting the environment.