OAS members sign anti-discrimination conventions


BUENOS AIRES, Argentina (JTA) — Argentina was among six countries to sign anti-discrimination conventions by the Organization of American States.

The nations signed the Inter-American Convention against All Forms of Discrimination and Intolerance and the Inter-American Convention Against Racism, Racial Discrimination and Related Forms of Intolerance on Saturday at the OAS General Assembly in the Guatemalan city of Antigua.

The conventions establish obligations for member states to develop policies and legislation that prevent, prohibit and punish acts of discrimination, including anti-Semitism.

Antigua and Barbuda, Brazil, Costa Rica, Ecuador and Uruguay also signed the document.

“This is a great day for those who hope to live in a world where discrimination and intolerance are pushed to the fringes of society and no longer tolerated,” Allan Jacobs, the president of B’nai B’rith International, said in a statement. “B’nai B’rith has diligently worked for many years for the passage of these conventions. It’s a proud day for us and the Organization of American States.”



Recommended from JTA