Seven Jews Elected to South African Parliament
Menu JTA Search

Seven Jews Elected to South African Parliament

Seven Jews are among those elected to the new Parliament of South Africa. They are Morris Alexander, Morris Kentridge, Emile Nathan, Sir David Harris, C. P. Robinson, Sir E. Oppenheimer and E. Buirski, representing various parties. One Jew, Mr. W. Ehrlich, was elected to the Senate.

Mr. Kentridge is a member of the Executive of the Zionist Federation in South Africa.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund