Menu JTA Search

Electors Chosen for Jewish Senate Representatives in Hungary

(Jewish Telegraphic Agency)

Four Jewish electors to select the two Jewish representatives in the upper chamber of the Hungarian parliament, were chosen. They are Rabbi Immanuel Loew of Szegedin, Bernstein of Nyireghaza, the Orthodox Rabbi Strasser of Debreczyn, and Rosenbaum of Kisvarda. Chief Rabbi Simon Hevesi, who was endorsed for election to the senate by Bishop Czernoch, was defeated in the electoral vote. Reich and Fischer of Budapest were also defeated.