National Conference for Work Among Jewish Students is Created
Menu JTA Search

National Conference for Work Among Jewish Students is Created

Download PDF for this date

A new organization for Jewish work among Jewish students in the American universities to function as an advisory and coordinating body to all organizations now separately conducting such activities among Jewish students, was created yesterday at a meeting of representatives of twelve national Jewish organizations which took place in Temple Emanu-El under the chairmanship of Dr. David Philipson.

The new body, to be known as the Conference on Jewish Activities at Universities, will be advisory in character, but it will have power by common consent to initiate such work among the Jewish students as is not being covered by any of the existing organizations for student work, such as the Hillel Foundations of the I. O. B. B. and others. The precise functions of the organization were defined in a resolution presented by Rabbi Isaac Landman and adopted following a lively discussion participated at chiefly by Alfred M. Cohen, president of the I. O. B. B., Rabbis Jacob Kohn, Wolsey. Samuel Cohen, Enelow, Frankel and others. The resolution reads:

“The purpose of this Conference shall be to study and discuss with a view to cooperation among its constituent organizations and, if found necessary, to initiate by common consent, Jewish work among Jewish students in American Universities. Its character shall be advisory.”

The conference adopted a constitution for the new organization, providing for regular annual meetings and special meetings whenever found necessary, for representation by the various constituent national Jewish organizations on the Executive Committee and for annual dues of $25 to be paid by each constituent organization. Other means of securing funds for the work of the Conference will be used whenever advisable. This constitution will be considered as permanently ratified if no disagreement by any of the constituent bodies is filed on or before April I.

The organizations represented at yesterday’s conference were:

Independent Order B’nai B’rith, represented by Alfred M. Cohen and Rabbi Frankel; Intercollegiate Menorah Association, Aaron Horowitz, Harry Starr; Jewish Chautauqua, Rabbis Wm. Rosenau, Abraham Wolsey, Marvin Nathan; Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations, Rabbi Leo Jung. Mrs. Harold C. Stern; Council of American Jewish Student Affairs, Arthur Snyder, Edward Davis, Harold Riegelman; Young People’s League of the United Synagogue, Rabbi Samuel Cohen, Geo. M. Hyman, Irving H. Fisher; Commission on Jewish Education of the United American Hebrew Congregations, Rabbis David Philipson, H. G. Enelow, Leo M. Franklin; National Federation of Temple Sisterhoods. Mrs. Maurice Steinfeld, Mrs. David Goldfarb, Rabbi George Zeppin; National Federation of Temple Brotherhoods, Arnold M. Schmidt: Central Conference of American Rabbis, Rabbis Isaac Landman, Jacob B. Pollack, Leo M. Franklin; United Synagogue of America, Rabbis Jacob Kohn, Elias Margolis; Rabbinical Assembly, Rabbis Jacob Kohn, Elias Margolis, Jesse Schwartz.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund