Menu JTA Search

Four Jewish Councillors Elected to Jerusalem Municipal Government

(Jewish Telegraphic Agency)

Four Jewish councillors were elected to the new municipal government of Jerusalem on the united Jewish list.

The four Jewish councillors are Ben Zevi, Haym Solomon, Isaac Eliashar and Elijah Shammai.

Under an agreement concluded between the Jewish and Arab parties, the Arab candidates received the support of the Jewish voters. Among the Arab councillors elected are Nashishibi, the present mayor, and Raghed Bey of Nashishibi’s party, who will probably be the next mayor, and Jamal Pasha, secretary of the Palestine Arab Executive, who belongs to Husseini’s party.