Students Win Fellow-ships at Training School for Jewish Social Work
Menu JTA Search

Students Win Fellow-ships at Training School for Jewish Social Work

Download PDF for this date

Nine states will be represented on the student body of the Training School for Jewish Social Work in the next fifteen months’ course which begins July 5, according to an announcement yesterday by Maurice J. Karpf, director of the school, 210 West 91st Street, New York City.

The School held a competitive examination on May 5 in the leading universities throughout the country for the fellowships which the School offers each year to college graduates.

The Jewish Federation of Detroit, Michigan and the Jewish Federation of Cleveland, Ohio, are each sending one student on a fellowship to take the full course in the School, in order that they may return to the respective communities for work after graduation.

New York state leads the list with six students and Ohio and Pennsylvania are sending four each. There are eleven women and ten men in the new class, all of them graduates of recognized colleges. The students are: Edith Beck, Cleveland, Western Reserve University; Anne B. Caplan, Steubenville, O., University of Michigan; Dorothy Davis, Minneapolis, University of Minnesota; Rose E. Drapkin, New York, Hunter College; Charlotte Eisenberg, Brooklyn, N. Y. Smith College; Isidor Hartman, Brooklyn, New York University; George E. Levine, West Orange, N. J., Harvard University; Oscar Lipsitz, Pittsburgh, Pa., University of Pittsburgh; Mary Perschonok, Milwaukee, University of Wisconsin; Arthur Rosichan, Cleveland. Western Reserve University; Philip Ruby, Petaluma, Calif., University of California; Louis Shanok, New Haven, Conn., Yale University; Belle Siegel, Cleveland, University of Michigan; Lottic Silin, Erie, Pa., Syracuse University; Mareaner Simms, Harrisburg, Pa., Goucher College; Fred Stern, Milwaukee, University of Wisconsin: Sol Ungar, New York, New York University; George Wolfe, Worcester, Mass, Clark University and Ada Zeidelman, Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania.

The School was initlated by the National Conference of Jewish Social Service in January, 1925, and the funds for the organization were made available through the New York Foundation, the Nathan Hofheimer Foundation and private contributors. The purpose of the school is to offer facilities for the initial training of new social workers from all parts of the country and for the supplementary training of those now in the field.

Julius Rosenwald was the first president of the school and was succeeded in that office by Louis E. Kirstein, of Boston. Other officers include Dr. Lee K. Frankel. Vice-President; I. Edwin Goldwasser, Treasurer; Solomon Lo-wenstein, Secretary; Felix M. Warburg, Chairman, Executive Committee; Maurice J. Karpf, Director and Frances N. Harrison, Assistant Director.

Ten thousand men and women during the past week participated in the ceremonies which dedicated the new West Philadelphia Jewish Community Center.

The Center was erected at a cost of $750,000.

The dedication ceremonies were inaugurated on Sunday, June 12th, and continued with a special program throughout the week. The conclusion of the dedication exercises will take place on June 19th, with a dinner in honor of those who have contributed or raised $1,000 or more to the Building Fund.

The Central Jewish Institute Talmud Torah will hold graduation exercises on Sunday afternoon, June 19th at the Institute, 125 East 85th Street, New York.

Rabbi Lookstein of the Congregation Kehilrath Jeshurin will be the principal speaker.

Dr. I. M. Rubinow, Director of the Jewish Welfare Society of Philadelphia, has with-drawn his resignation and will continue in that post.

Dr. Rubinow has been Director of the Jewish Welfare Society for the past four years. He tendered his resignation in order to accept the post of Executive Director of the Brooklyn Federation of Jewish Charities.

Governor J. Hammill, of Iowa. will welcome delegates to the fourth annual convention of the Order of Aleph Zadik Aleph of the Independent Order B’nai B’rith which will take place in Des Moines June 29th to July 1st. Plans have been made to take care of more than 250 delegates and visitors from all parts of the country.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund