Avukah Convention Chooses New Officers; Rhoade is Reelected
Menu JTA Search

Avukah Convention Chooses New Officers; Rhoade is Reelected

Download PDF for this date

(Jewish Daily Bulletin)

Max Rhoade, of Washington, D. C, was unanimously re-elected national President of the Avukah, American Student Zionist Federation, at the second annual Convention of that organization, which concluded its three-day session here yesterday. Other officers elected on the new administration include five Vice-Presidents: Samuel Blumenfield, of New York; Milton Goell, New York; William Bernard Rudenko, Philadelphia; Leo Schwartz, Boston; and Hymen Smoler, Chicago. Dr. Carl Goldenberg and Emanuel Aaronson, both of Washington, were elected Foreign Secretary and Treasurer respectively. Max Rhoade and Samuel Blumenfield were also elected representatives of the Avukah on the National Executive Committee of the Zionist Organization of America, with which the Avukah is affiliated.

Plans for the cultural and practical work of the Organization, for the ensuing year were adopted. A national cultural committee, of which Leo Schwartz was named chairman, was appointed for the purpose of preparing comprehensive programs and material for the cultural work of the twentynine Avukah chapters in forty universities and colleges in the country. Other members of this committee include: Miss Rebecca Schmuckler, of New York; Rabbi Aaron Kessler, Dr. Julius Siegel and Miss Anna Harris, of Philadelphia, Mr. Max Schenk and Mr. Isaac Shapiro of New York.

The persecutions of Jewish students in Roumania were strongly condemned in a resolution passed by the Convention. A resolution was also passed by the Convention expressing sympathy for the young Zionists in Russia who are under imprisonment as a result of a policy of oppression adopted by the Soviet Government.

It was decided that the budget for the internal maintenance of the Avukah organization should have priority over the work for Palestine, but that all surplus funds should be applied to the support of whatever Palestine project is adopted.

In addition to the officers, the following National Executive Committee was elected: Miss Esther De Berg, Brooklyn; Samuel Dinin, New York; Moses E Elievson, Brooklyn; Lionel Gelber, Toronto, Canada; Rabbi Simon Greenberg, Philadelphia; Rabbi Mitchell Fisher, New York; Samuel W. Halperin. Chicago; Isadore Imber, New York; Dr. S. Lepovsky, Madison, Wis.; Louis E. Levinthal, Philadelphia; Dora Margolis, Dorchester, Mass.; Dr. Anna Mintz, Boston; Robert Morrison, Cambridge. Mass.; Dr. Leo Neumann. Chicago; Philip Resnikov, Philadelphia; Miss Jeanette Rubin, Chicago; Miss Bertha Samuels, New York; Samuel I. Schanzer, Buffalo; Max Schenk, New York; Alfred Platt. Chicago; Marcus Mason, New York; Ezra Shapiro, Cleveland; Dr. Julius Siegel, Philadelphia; Phineas Smoller, Milwaukee, Wis.; Rabbi Mortimer Cohen. Philadelphia; Mrs. Freda Ullian, Detroit, Mich.; Alex. J. Whynman, New York; Samuel Zarefsky, New York; George Fisher, Chicago: Dr. Morris Dreyfuss, New York; Robert M. Bernstein, Philadelphia; Morris A. Skop, Ohio; Miss Rebecca Schmukler. New York: Benjamin Schwartz, Philadelphia; Miss Libby Schnitzer Chicago; Robert Mendelson, New York; Chas. Satinower. Chicago; Dr. David Bethlachmy, Philadelphia; Isaac Shapiro, New York.


Leo Wolfson, President of the United Roumanian Jews of America and Herman Speier, Executive Secretary, members of the Delegation of the American Jewish Congress to the Conference on Jewish Rights, which will be held in Zurich, Switzerland, on August 17, will sail for Europe on the S.S. Ile de France on July 2nd.

Mr. Wolfson will deliver an address on the present situation of the Jews in Roumania, at the Zurich Conference.

Before going to the conference Mr. Wolfson and Mr. Speier will visit Palestine. Mr. Wolfson is a member of the National Executive Committee of the Zionist Organization of America.

Harry P. Fierst sailed last night with his family on the Berengaria for Palestine, where he will stay four weeks. Mr. Fierst will go to Basle to attend the Fifteenth Zionist Congress before returning to the United States.

More than 11,000 campers will be provided for in 24 camps conducted by constituent societies of the Jewish Welfare Board during the forthcoming season.

Surprise Lake Camp, at Cold Spring, N. Y., receives registrations from the New York City Y. M. H. A.’s and Jewish Centers through the agency of the Educational Alliance and the Y. M. H. A. of 92nd Street and Lexington Avenue. The last mentioned association also maintains Camp Lehman, Port Chester, N. Y. The Y. W. H. A. of New York City conducts Ray Hill Camp, Mr. Kisco, N. Y.

The Central Jewish Institute maintains camps at Port Jervis, N.Y. The New Jersey Federation of Y.M.H.A.’s and Y.W.H.A.’s sponsors a camp for boys and a camp for girls. The other associations maintaining camps are as follows: Y. W. H. A., Atlanta, Ga.; Jewish People’s Institute, Chicago, Ill.; Y. M. H. A., Louisville, Ky.; Y. W. H. A., Detroit, Mich.; Y. M. H. A., Mt. Vernon, N. Y.; J. Y. M. A., Rochester, N. Y.; Jewish Communal Home, Syracuse, N. Y.; Council Educational Alliance, Cleveland, O.: Y.M.H.A.. Oklahoma City, Okla.; B’nai B’rith Center, Portland, Ore.: Y. M. and Y. W. H. A., Philadelphia, Pa.; Y. M. H. A., Wilkes-Barre, Pa.; and Y. M. H. A., Chattanooga, Tenn.

The estimated value of camps which are owned by associations is approximately $1,200,000.

The laying of the cornerstone of the Jewish Sanitarium for Incurables, at Rutland Road and Utica Avenue, Brooklyn, was held Sunday afternoon. The structure is to be four stories high. It will contain 225 beds.

Max Blumberg is President of the Building Committee.

Among the speakers were Supreme Court Justices Edward Lazansky and Mitchell May and City Court Justice Alexander S. Geismar.

As soon as the building is opened about 200 Jewish patients at the Kings County Hospital are to be removed to it.

In charge of the work for the sanitarium are Mr. Blumberg, President; Mrs. H. Elowsky, Bernard Lebovitz. Max E. Lubin and Mrs. Charles Rosenchal, Vice-Presidents.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund