Menu JTA Search

News Brief

The dedication of the new Adath Yeshurun synagogue took place last week. Joseph H. Schanfield, president of the congregation, delivered the opening address.

The dedication address was delivered by Rabbi Jesse Schwartz. Dr. Maurice Lefkovits delivered the closing address.

Rabbi Albert G. Minda of Temple Israel, Rabbi David Aronson of Beth El Synagogue, and Rabbi S. Levin of Shaarei Zedeck synagogue, participated in the program.

The Adath Yeshurun congregation is one of the oldest in the city. It was organized in the summer of 1885 by a group of Russian and Roumanian Jews.

The main auditorium will seat 1,000 persons.