Jewish Ministers Pass Protest Resolution
Menu JTA Search

Jewish Ministers Pass Protest Resolution

Download PDF for this date

The Executive Committee of the New York Board of Jewish Ministers, at a special meeting called for the purpose, passed the following resolution :

“The New York Board of Jewish Ministers, in common with all our people, deplores the outrages committed against our co-religionists in Palestine.

“We are greatly encouraged by the determination manifested by the British government to restore and maintain order in the Holy Land, and we sincerely hope that tall elements will co-operate with the authorities to establish lasting peace and good will.

“Because of the sorrow and distress that have come into so many homes we express our heartfelt condolences to the bereaved and our sympathy to the suffering.

“In view of the pressing needs of the many ravaged communities in Palestine, we urge upon our co-religionists that they respond speedily and liberally to the call for financial aid which the deplorable situation demands.”

The statement was signed by Rabbis Elias L. Solomon, Harry Weiss, Louis Finkelstein, Samuel J. Levinson. Joseph Silverman, Maurice H. Harris, Bernard Drachman, Israel Goldstein. D. De Sola Pool. Moses Hyamson, Nathan Stern, Clifton H. Levy, Simon R. Cohen, Barnett A. Elzas.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund